Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Poem “Kitchen Drawer” published in Curio Poetry

with 3 comments

Curio screenshot

I found out early last week that my poem “Kitchen Drawer” was accepted for publication in issue 7 of Curio Poetry! Curio is a (newish) online journal that highlights “the world at a micro-level: tiny spaces, instants, individual objects, scraps of dreams and memories, et cetera.” I decided to submit to this journal after seeing three poems published in issue 2 by M.J. Iuppa. I studied under Iuppa as an undergrad at St. John Fisher College, and her instruction deeply influenced my craft development.

“Kitchen Drawer” was initially composed during an in-class writing exercise for one of my workshops with Kim Bridgford at West Chester University. The poem underwent a bunch of revisions after that, but if you’re interested, here are some similar prompts you could start from:

  • List the items in your junk drawer and write about how the items in a person’s junk drawer can tell a lot about that person.
  • Write a poem about the clutter in your emotional junk drawer.

Thanks to M.J. for introducing me to Curio, Kim for the prompt, and Joseph Harker and Tessa Racht (Curio editor and assistant editor, respectively) for giving me the opportunity to publish this poem next to all of the other amazing work in issue 7.

Written by Erin Dorney

June 11, 2012 at 9:18 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s great, Erin! Congrats!

    John Jackson

    June 11, 2012 at 11:05 AM

  2. Erin, I have no idea how I just found you! But I’m so glad I did. Very exciting news and glad to hear that you’re writing. Will check out your poem. Proud of you.
    M.J.

    M.J.Iuppa

    June 15, 2012 at 4:05 PM

  3. […] my poem was accepted at Curio, I checked Duotrope for other places work by Curio authors was accepted. Lo and behold, Birdfeast […]


Leave a Reply

