Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Computers in Libraries 2012

with 2 comments

cherry blossoms

On Tuesday I’m headed to Washington DC for the 2012 Computers in Libraries conference (also known as CiL, hashtag #cildc). It’s my first time but I have heard great things from past attendees. Really looking forward to my first conference since early December! I’ll definitely be hitting up @jill_hw for my SU iSchool wristband (any other SU grads out there who are attending?).

Presentation

I’m presenting “Redesigning Reference Models” with two of my Millersville colleagues on Friday, March 23 from 10:30-11:15am. We’ll be talking about how our renovation project gave us the opportunity to rethink how we provide research help to the campus community, particularly without a centralized physical reference desk. Check out our teaser video and collaborative Google Doc to learn more. We’re encouraging everyone to use the hashtag #undesk for our session so we can keep track of the conversations.

Blogging

I’ll be blogging, but I’m not sure exactly when due to informal TableCons, LobbyCons, FireCons and BarCons that I’ve been assured will crop up. Live-blogging sessions, nightly recaps, post-conference highlights…anything is possible. There is a list of other CiL bloggers and the conference blog is a pretty nice resource too.

If you want to eat/chat/etc, hit me up on Twitter @libscenester. There are just a few days left to apply for our open Learning Design Librarian position, so if you want to discuss the job at all, hit me up in DC. Hope to see you there!

where credit is due:
Hand-drawn Post Layout via pugly pixel | CC BY-NC 2.0 Cherry Blossom by design_energy | Denne Fuchoor Font via dafont
Written by Erin Dorney

March 19, 2012 at 8:09 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your presentation goes well, Erin! If I was at CIL this year, I would definitely be in attendance.

    John M. Jackson

    March 20, 2012 at 6:09 PM

  2. Thanks John! I think it went over well based on the tweets :)

    Erin Dorney

    April 6, 2012 at 2:05 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,736 other followers