Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Goals for 2012

with 5 comments

I don’t typically do a lot of goal setting, but there are some key things I want to accomplish in 2012 so I thought I’d post them here. If nothing else, it might help me stay accountable now that these have been released beyond my mind’s eye:

  • Read more for pleasure (35+ books)
  • Learn Drupal or die trying (okay, that may be a little extreme…)
  • Successfully defend my MA thesis & graduate from West Chester University
  • Complete Five Wishes/living will and collate all paperwork relating to benefits/insurance in case of an emergency
  • Pay off my remaining student loan and save $10,000
  • Apply for promotion & tenure

And some guiding principles:

  • Go outside
  • Do good work
  • Ideate
  • Help others

What are your goals for 2012? Do you separate personal/professional goals or lump them all together?

Image by http://dryicons.com

Written by Erin Dorney

January 4, 2012 at 6:07 PM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Drupal! Drupal drupal drupal. The O’Reilly _Using Drupal_ book is really good. (Even if it’s for Drupal 6, and 7 might be better to start on these days.)

    Andromeda

    January 4, 2012 at 6:14 PM

  2. @ Andromeda – Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll definitely check it out. We’re building a new library website in Drupal right now and I’ve been working with a web developer. It would be so awesome to know how to do more myself, which is my impetus for learning. Plus, can’t be a bad skill to have on the ole’ CV, right?! Awesome webinar today, by the way, and thanks for the comment!

    Erin Dorney

    January 4, 2012 at 6:57 PM

  3. Good luck on graduating, and those sound like really solid goals! Happy New Year.

    Madigan

    January 4, 2012 at 8:49 PM

  4. Awesome goals! Drupal for sure! I was thinking about using that for photography stuff – maybe we could learn together and hold each other accountable 🙂

    Amy

    January 5, 2012 at 7:30 PM

  5. @ Madigan – Thanks so much! Happy new year to you as well.

    @ Amy – That would be fun! I gotta check out that Drupal app you told me about. Also, you’re going to be doing at least a little bit of website stuff with me as GA this semester, so you’ll at least get used to the interface. Huzzah!

    Erin Dorney

    January 9, 2012 at 12:40 PM


Leave a Reply

