Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

What inspires you?

with 2 comments

Stuck in a rut? With crappy things being reported in the news and the end of the semester drawing near, it’s easy for the daily grind to take its toll. Technology can definitely help you get your inspiration back. You can use an app to receive daily poems on your phone, subscribe to the RSS feed of an insightful blogger, use Twitter to build supportive networks of colleagues and friends, follow Tumblrs featuring beautiful spaces or cats. These are all useful methods for getting back on track when it feels like every square inch of passion and motivation have been sapped from your body.

In addition to all of these channels, I find it extremely important to have non-digital inspiration around me. Which is why today I have decided to give you a mini-photo-tour of the things I draw strength from:

agate stonejonha smithcardscloset shelfpostcard & poemtony & kitten

Clockwise from top left: 1) Small, smooth egg-sized agate stone (gift from a colleague) for stressful times at work. 2) Amazing new artwork from my friend Jonha Smith. 3) Various items on a shelf in my closet, including a Christmas tree ornament from my mom, a thrifted framed print of a baby bird, two owls from a church rummage sale, a vintage Wilbur Buds tin & a salt shaker filled with blue sea glass from the shores of Lake Ontario. 4) Image of Tony & a kitten every time I unlock my phone throughout the day (okay, this one might not officially count as non-digital, but I had to include it). 5) Gandhi postcard (from my dad) and Edna St. Vincent Millay’s poem Ebb (typeset and hand-printed by yours truly) on the wall in my closet. 6) Rotating correspondence from friends and family around the country (holder via MoMA Store).

What gives you inspiration? Feel free to share in the comments. And have an amazing Thanksgiving – Among other things, I am thankful for all of my readers (that’s you!).

Written by Erin Dorney

November 23, 2011 at 8:35 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Josef Albers and FPL Postcards!

    Right now what inspires me is seeing people here using the library after all the work I did on the backend to make it happen. It was just really a collection until people started losing it. Also, the artwork downstairs is lovely – I go sneak a peek about once a week.

    Also, that photo of Tony and that Kitten is just awfully adorable. Happy Thanksgiving, you guys!

    Jason W. Dean

    November 23, 2011 at 8:44 AM

  2. @ Jason – Hehe, yeah as I was uploading the images to this post, I was thinking: “This has Dean written all over it!” 🙂 Thanks for all of the inspiration from AK! I can only imagine the joy you experience seeing people in the library now that it’s open… can’t wait for our renovation to be done so I can feel that too! Key quote: “It was just really a collection until people started losing it.” (although, I assume you meant to say “using”) – so true of libraries, I think! Also, my punctuation in that last sentence was whacked, don’t show Jen! Happy holidays!

    Erin Dorney

    December 7, 2011 at 9:22 AM


Leave a Reply

