Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

PaLA Annual Conference 2011

with 2 comments

palalogo11

I’ll be at the Pennsylvania Library Association Annual Conference in State College Sunday through Wednesday (October 2-5). Thought I’d share my tentative schedule here in case anyone wants to catch up before/during/after a session or grab meals together. You can always send me a tweet or DM @libscenester to get in touch.

Sunday, October 2

3:15-4:15 – Service-Learning @ the University Library

4:30-5:30 – A Safe Space on Campus: Winning Strategies Academic Libraries Can Use to Serve GLBTQ Students and Faculty

6:30-7:30 – College & Research Division Dine Out

8-11 – Unofficial PaLA Conference Tweetup

Monday, October 3

7:30-8:30 – Eye Opener Yoga

10:30-11:45 – Get Off the Bench: Low Cost Outreach Initiatives @ Your Academic Library (I’m moderating!)

1-2 – Poster session – I’ll be there co-presenting my poster “Changing Perspectives, Building Careers: Library Internships for Undergrads”

2:15-3:15 – Nature, Nurture, and Pennsylvania Academic Library Managers

Tuesday, October 4

9-10:15 – Beyond the Library Walls: Community Hot Spots

11-12 – Technology Tools for Assessment Toolkit

12:15-2 – College & Research Division Luncheon featuring Marshall Breeding “Beyond the ILS: Introduction and Future Directions”

3:30-4:30 – Brainstorming session about PaLA reorganization

4:30-6 – Annual Business Meeting

Wednesday, October 5

9-10:15 – Rethinking Information Literacy: Classroom Evidence for Incorporating Students’ Social Media Practices into our Professional Understanding

10:30-11:45 – PA Poets Write About Pennsylvania, and Other States of Being!

This is the first time I’ll be bringing my iPad with me to a conference, so we’ll see how it goes with note taking! Any advice on good iPhone or iPad apps to have for conferences?

Written by Erin Dorney

September 30, 2011 at 2:59 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry I’m a little late to spot this, but though I’d add my recommendations for note taking apps on iPad.

    I like PlainText for distraction free note taking and easy upload to Dropbox (it syncs once you are connected, but you can still make notes which are saved locally if you’re not online). I tend to set up a new folder for each conference/event, and then new documents for each session I attend.

    Evernote is a popular one which some people love (I use it sometimes but never totally trust it after reading about people losing their notes). I’ve also got ThinkBook and ActionNotes but haven’t learnt all the tricks with using them yet (they’ve got a few fancy features).

    Hope you have a great time at the conference! 🙂

    Jo Alcock

    October 3, 2011 at 9:06 AM

  2. @ Jo – Thanks for the comment and the app suggestions. I downloaded Evernote right before the conference so for now I’m using that. Until I lose my notes, hehe. It’s working pretty well so far although there are a lot of features I still have to investigate. Thanks again!

    Erin Dorney

    October 9, 2011 at 1:15 PM


Leave a Reply

