Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

My 2011 ALA Conference Schedule

with 2 comments

If you are going to ALA and will be at any of these sessions, let me know! We can sit together, chat or grab coffee during down time. I would love to meet some of my virtual friends and as you can see below, I still have a variety of meals to plan. This will be my first conference with a smartphone (huzzah!) so I should be able to communicate a little better for last minute plans. Just send me an @reply or DM on Twitter to get in touch! Or let me know if you want to exchange numbers.
Thursday, June 23 – Arriving in New Orleans

Dinner with the roommates at Jager Haus German Restaurant & Bar

Friday, June 24

9-5 – ALA Unconference

3-4 – ALA Emerging Leaders Poster Session

10 – ALA Dance Party

Saturday, June 25

9:30 – Coffee meet-up with colleague

10:30-12 – ACRL From Idea to Innovation to Implementation: How Teams Make it Happen

1:30-3:30 – NMRT Seizing Opportunities to Serve: Professional Involvement, Local to National OR Emerging Leaders Summit: “You’ve Emerged, Now What: The Emerged Leader Toolkit”

4-5:30 – LLAMA/NMRT New Leaders Discussion Group OR ALTAFF Tales from the Heart: Literary Memoirs

6 – Dinner at Cochon Restaurant

7-9 – Newbie & Veteran Tweet-Up at Bar Uncommon

9 – Facebook After Hours Social at Lafitte’s Blacksmith Shop

Sunday, June 26

8-10 – Making a Lasting Impression (If I can get up this early… which could be doubtful)

10:30-12 – YALSA Pecha Kucha: Teens and Technology (come see me, I’m presenting “All Up in Your Face(book): Virtual Identity Management for Teens and Young Adults”)

1:30-3:30 – ACRL 2013 Coordinating Committee Meeting

7:30 – 10 – Joint Merritt Fund / NMRT Awards Reception

9 – HackLibSchool Meetup at The Avenue Pub

Monday, June 27

8-10 – LLAMA PRMS Library Marketing Unprogram: Learn from your peers

10:30-12 – REFORMA How I Landed My First Librarian Position, And What I Did ‘In Between’ (come see me, I’m one of the panelists!)

Lunch with panelists/whoever wants to join us!

5:30-7 – Battledecks 2011, Convention Center Rm. 344

Tuesday, June 28 – Heading back to Pennsylvania

Written by Erin Dorney

June 3, 2011 at 12:45 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dorns! I wish I could meet up with you at ALA 😦 Will any of your presentations be floating around on the web? I’d love to see your Pecha Kucha, those are intimidating to make but always really great to see. Congrats on all of your professional activism. You’re really someone I admire and strive to emulate! P.S., Miss your face SEVERELY.

    LRae

    June 3, 2011 at 1:16 PM

  2. Aw Ms. Main! Thank you for your kind words. I hope that someday our paths will cross, either in good ole’ ROC or at a library conference. I’m not sure if anything is being recorded, but I will let you know once I find out. Or maybe I’ll do blog posts or something post-ALA. MISS YOU TO THE MOON!

    Erin Dorney

    June 8, 2011 at 11:29 PM


Leave a Reply

