Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Some Upcoming Projects

with 4 comments

With a more relaxed schedule (I am on winter break until mid-January), I have been able to spend some time planning for the spring semester. Here are some different things I’ll be working on:

  • Three different interviews for my C&RL News Job of a Lifetime column for 2011 – featuring an Outreach Services Librarian, a Research & Development Librarian, and a librarian from ipl2. As soon as the columns are published I will be sure to link to them here. And as always, if you or someone you know has the job of a lifetime, contact me!
  • Over the summer I started working on a collaborative research project and just this week finished the data collection stages with my research partners. We’re doing a content analysis of select academic library websites in order to investigate the unintended messages created by design decisions and use of space. I have had the pleasure of working with a friend (and mentor) and am looking forward to our analysis over the next month. We hope to have some conclusions published in a peer reviewed journal sometime in the future.
  • This summer I will be supervising my first LIS student intern from Rutgers University. Over the past few weeks I have been working with her to put together an internship plan of work (taking into account all of your fabulous comments from my previous post on library internships for undergrads!). It’s a work in progress at the moment, but I’m hoping to give her some projects relating to outreach regarding the renovation (slated to start in fall 2011), information literacy (possibly teaching a few sessions), research assistance (at the help desk) and social media things. She has a background in PR and is a fantastic writer, so I might also try to find communication/design projects as well. I am really looking forward to working with her, and I think I will end up learning a lot as well.
  • I’m going to have another undergraduate intern from Millersville this spring (my third!) so I have been putting together some projects for him as well. He’s going to be shadowing me at the research help desk and in instruction sessions. I think he is also going to work on some writing projects for our Renovation Website (particularly showcasing different issues from an informed student perspective). And informational interviews to learn more about the field of librarianship.
  • Only two creative writing workshops and my thesis project stand between me and my second master’s degree! This spring I am taking a poetry workshop with Kim Bridgford (who has also kindly agreed to be my thesis committee advisor). I am beyond excited to work with her in the coming months. Our required texts include Archaic Smile: Poems by A. E. Stallings, Murano by Mark Doty, Playing At Stillness by Rhina P. Espaillat and Thomas and Beulah by Rita Dove. Have you read any of them?

So what projects do you have planned for the upcoming months?  Also, does anyone have advice for supervising an LIS student intern? I want to make sure this is a valuable and productive experience for everyone.

Written by Erin Dorney

January 3, 2011 at 7:40 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Erin – I think Sue Mee here at RIT has done some work recently with LIS student interns. You may want to contact her for some advice on that project. Sounds like you’ll be very busy!

    Roman Koshykar

    January 4, 2011 at 8:44 AM

  2. i’ve been supervising LIS practicum students and interns for three years now. I could send you some of my documentation if you want it.

    lyndamk

    January 8, 2011 at 12:46 PM

  3. @ Roman – Thanks for letting me know, I am going to email Sue to see if she has any thoughts.

    @ Lynda – I would love to see any documentation you’re willing to share. It was nice to see a post on your blog today, sounds like you had a pretty insane 2010. Here’s to a successful 2011, let me know if you’re ever interested in collaborating on something!

    Erin

    January 8, 2011 at 4:21 PM

  4. I will send the docs I have to you tomorrow. Here’s our libguide we use for recruitment and training: http://uncg.libguides.com/interns BTW, thanks for the encouragement re posting. Wish I had blogged more about what was going on, but alas time is not my friend 🙂

    lyndamk

    January 9, 2011 at 10:13 AM


Leave a Reply

