Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Some blog updates.

with 6 comments

I’m not quite sure if anyone reads this outside of RSS feed readers, so I wanted to point out a few slight changes to my blog. Within the navigation bar I have combined my About and Contact Me sections. I figured that information could pretty much all fall under About. I also got rid of my Coursework section because I felt like it wasn’t really adding anything to my digital presence here. I will continue to discuss my courses at West Chester on an as-needed basis, but I don’t feel the need to list them all out.

The larger change is that I got rid of all of my links from the sidebar. For some reason, I have never been pleased with that setup. Instead, I created a new page called Blogs I ❤ located along the top navigation bar. I am going to post my favorite blogs there with brief commentary (I am hesitant to call it a “review” because I know my comments will be subjective). I think this is ultimately a better way to share the blogs I enjoy reading and let people know why. Maybe it will encourage readers to check out these new blogs and add them to their RSS feed – at least more-so than a simple link to the site.

What else… oh, a small thing – I added some additional pieces of library-related design work to my Flickr account, so you can preview those in my sidebar widget as well. Just some random things from the past year or so.

So, what do you think? Are there any other changes you would like to see? I just realized that I have never done any “usability” testing on this site… so if you are encountering any problems, let me know. I can work on tweaking it.

Written by Erin Dorney

August 14, 2010 at 12:30 PM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmmm. (strokes chin thoughtfully)

    I do like the “cleaned up” sidebar – makes the homepage much more readable, I think. I think I would take my coursework down as well, if I had a bit more experience. At this point, I think my coursework is still pretty important to my job search. As a matter of fact, your inclusion of courses was the reason I put all of that on my CV. If I were in your shoes, I’d skip it.

    Have you ever thought about using the tag in your posts? You can just give a preview on the homepage and then visitors can click through to the full post if they are interested. Of course (as you pointed out) this doesn’t affect the RSS feed – especially if it’s turned off in your WordPress settings.

    What about combining your about and CV? After all, your CV is all about you and it eliminates a link. Or, what about moving everything in the sidebar to the top navigation area?

    Just some thoughts – I think Library Scenester is great as it is!!!!

    Jason

    PS – Thanks so very much for the super-nice blog review! Made Jen and I both have big smiles!!!

    Jason Dean

    August 14, 2010 at 3:15 PM

  2. I meant the more tag above. I think WP edited it out…

    Jason W. Dean

    August 14, 2010 at 6:22 PM

  3. Hey Jason – Thanks for your comments. I just moved my CV to the About section, makes a lot of sense! Yeah I think for someone coming right out of school it is beneficial to have coursework represented, just so employers have some kind of idea about what classes you’ve taken. Good call.

    I might experiment with the sidebar stuff some more and the more tag. I am kind of limited since I still have the free wordpress account (can’t change the style sheets, etc) but I’ll see what I can do.

    Erin

    August 14, 2010 at 9:53 PM

  4. Dorns, I love-love-LOVE some of the new stuff you posted in your Flickr. Totally dig on the “Got Game?” posters, and the Vagina Monologues logo you made for the t-shirts is fantastic. Good stuff!

    Lindsey Rae

    August 27, 2010 at 8:01 PM

  5. Thanks Ms. Main! I miss you greatly… glad you’re enjoying the design work! We have Bob to thank for much of my inspiration 🙂 We need a phone/Skype/video chat date, lady!

    Erin

    August 28, 2010 at 10:00 PM

  6. Ahhh, I completely agree! I have so much to tell you! Maybe sometime soon before school gets really crazy 🙂

    Lindsey Rae

    August 30, 2010 at 12:33 PM


Leave a Reply

