Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Library Day in the Life: Tuesday

with 8 comments

Round five of the Library Day in the Life Project with a little different format. Here’s a list of some projects I worked on today:

  • Finalized a press release about the $34,000 LSTA grant that Millersville University/Dickinson College have received to work on the Slavery & Abolition in the US digital collection.
  • Revised the FAQ copy I was working on yesterday for the library renovation website and sent it on for more proofreading by colleagues.
  • Put together the first draft of our poster for Library Fest (based on the tutorial I found yesterday and inspired by the music of The Zolas, a new band I am SO loving!). The poster is below but it’s likely to go through at least one more iteration before I’m satisfied. Also, I purposely didn’t use color (too expensive to print in house) because I’m planning to print it out on colored paper.
  • Met with a colleague to plan how we will use the grant money we received from the MU Theme Committee ($2,000). We’ll be purchasing electronic materials in support of the main university lectures and will be putting together subject guides for the website to pulling new and existing information together for students/faculty/community members who want to do research in those topic areas. I’m excited!
  • Completed a new wellness profile for the next phase of our health care plan thingy. I need to work on stress, nutrition, and physical activity (no surprises there!).
  • Browsed the SAGE website because I had a contributing author credit for an article I wrote for the Green Consumerism collection. I cashed in for Tessa Muncey’s Creating Autoethnographies and Peter Corrigan’s The Dressed Society: Clothing, the Body and Some Meanings of the World.
  • Spent an hour and a half at the reference desk. It was very slow (2 questions) so I also read and took notes on Terry Eagleton’s concluding chapter in Literary Theory: An Introduction for class tomorrow.
  • Spent two hours weeding the 791’s (film, theater, a massive number of creepy puppetry books).

Written by Erin Dorney

July 27, 2010 at 5:43 PM

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That first point sounds really cool! Congrats, and it sounds like a cool project I would like to see!

    Jason Dean

    July 29, 2010 at 8:38 AM

  2. Awesome work, Erin! I love how eye-catching your Library Fest poster is!

    How much time did it take you to do all that? You’re so busy!

    Melissa Houlroyd

    July 29, 2010 at 12:36 PM

  3. You’re a machine, Dorney!

    Also, what is this about? Is it work related? “Completed a new wellness profile for the next phase of our health care plan thingy. I need to work on stress, nutrition, and physical activity (no surprises there!). “

    Jen Dean

    July 29, 2010 at 3:36 PM

  4. @ Jason – Well, you can! It’s accessible to everyone: http://deila.dickinson.edu/slaveryandabolition/ Oh wait, were you talking about the press release? If so, let me know and I will send you a copy.

    @ Melissa – Thanks! That was pretty much my whole day, but then I kind of ran out of steam on Wednesday haha. Monday and Tuesday are always my most productive of the week because I am excited to go back after the weekend. I always have good vibes and creative ideas at the beginning of the week, but as it goes on, I seem to get slower or something. Maybe it’s just all of this daunting weeding that is currently on my schedule (yik).

    Erin

    July 29, 2010 at 3:38 PM

  5. @ Jen – Thanks haha. Yeah for our health insurance at work we have to do certain things in order to pay a lower rate. So they make you take a wellness profile and then give you a “plan” aka top health-related issues they gather from your responses. Mind kind of just revealed what I already know, I need to do some stress-relieving exercise and pay more attention to what I eat. You have to get a certain number of points and they have a whole bunch of ways you can earn them: preventative exams, telephone programs, smoking-cessation programs, on-campus walking groups, etc. It’s not too hard to complete the qualifications.

    Erin

    July 29, 2010 at 3:45 PM

  6. Interesting that we are seeing this already. Have you formed a plan in order to help you save month on insurance premiums? Is this a recent change? Have you seen this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCQSGnZ0lTg&feature=autofb

    Jen Dean

    July 29, 2010 at 5:46 PM

  7. @ Jen – Thanks for sharing that link, I hadn’t seen it. I haven’t looked at anything like that, this is just something the insurance company I have through PA (since I work at a state-funded institution) has been doing for the past few years. They’ve been phasing it ever since I started at MU. If you don’t do the profile/take steps for improvement, you pay the higher rate. So I haven’t investigated anything on my own, just did what they say to get the lower rate for now. Have you guys looked into insurance premiums at all? Tony gets his through the VA since he was in the Air Force, but he is hoping to get something more reliable/robust when he starts working as an electrician.

    Erin

    August 2, 2010 at 8:25 PM

  8. […] of Rebecca, my classmate/hero) Libraries as cultural centers (thanks to James for this one) Library day in the life (some of the interesting projects that my clasmate/hero Erin gets paid to work […]


Leave a Reply

