Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Two years in PA.

with 6 comments

Summer Scenester

I’ve been in Pennsylvania for two whole years! Crazy, isn’t it? It simultaneously feels like I have been here for over ten years and less than six months. Is that good or bad? Maybe both.

One of the biggest changes I have experienced in the past two years has been my relationship with my family. I left New York around the time my father was retiring and it will always be one of my biggest regrets that I had to leave just as I began to truly appreciate him. I think this factor has contributed in part to a slight breakdown in communication between my two younger brothers and myself. I’m six hours away and they live at home. It’s kind of not fair. I want to be a part of those dinner conversations.

I’m working on it. It’s a new goal for me to stay in touch instead of secluding myself here with work, school, and my oh-so-important PA life. And my mom, well, I just miss her every single day. I’m sure she’s enjoying being the only girl in a house full of boys… 😉

But, this is a Professional Blog (with capitals)! I should address something of substance, lest my readers abandon me. How about this inspirational conclusion:

I’ve been a professional librarian for two years now. I’ve been presented with a multitude of opportunities. I have been challenged in a plethora of ways. I have met people who I admire and aspire to be like as well as people who I wish I could turn and run from. What it all equals is the experience of a lifetime, the most rewarding period thus far. I can truly say that I love the career I have chosen and look forward to embracing the inevitable changes that will come.

Coming soon – Blog posts about ALA Annual, the PaLA awards, the ACRL Virtual Conference 2011 and more. Keep those dials tuned.

Written by Erin Dorney

July 7, 2010 at 9:57 AM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, all I can say is I hope you don’t want to turn and run from the Mrs. and I! (Ha.) I wonder, what is the line between a personal and professional blog? Mine is pretty much both, but should there be a distinct difference? Also, do you think your blogging has been helpful in self-examination, and dare I say it, self-promotion?

    Jason Dean

    July 7, 2010 at 10:16 AM

  2. @ Jason – No way! In fact, I think meeting you and Jen has been one of the highlights of 2010. I wish we lived closer so we could hang out more, we don’t have tons of awesome couple friends 🙂 As for the distinction between personal and professional, who knows. I find myself blogging less here and I don’t know if it’s related to the fact that my blog was included as a development platform in my university reappointment materials (i.e. I am self-censoring now that I know administrators might be reading) or if it’s just that I have found different environments to share my ideas and reflections (colleagues, writing for different publications, etc). I certainly see this as an avenue for self-examination, and if nothing else, a place for me to digest what I have learned and experienced. And it truly has helped with self-promotion. I’m actually doing a panel presentation on using blogging to develop your digital identity at the Pennsylvania Library Association Annual Conference this fall. I strongly believe that if I did not have such a digital presence, I would not have been offered (or received, or even known about) many of the opportunities I’ve had since moving to Pennsylvania. What are your goals for your blog? Are they similar to mine? Say hi to Jen for me!

    Erin

    July 7, 2010 at 10:56 AM

  3. Well, we might be closer to the PA at some point before the end of the year – till then, let’s make sure and keep in touch! I’d call it a highlight for us as well!

    Well, I think in any forum, self-censoring is important online – one never knows where your writing might end up, or who might read it. I think since Jen and I started the Dean Files we have had this in mind. And, I think the nature of blogging has changed – it’s not enough to just have a personal journal thing, “I ate fish for dinner with Ted,” for example, but readers expect substantive posts either in terms of length or content. I guess my frustration is that, unlike your blog, I rarely get comments (except from Jen) and it’s hard for me to post regularly if I think no one reads my blog. Alas.

    As for goals, it is certainly a tool for self-promotion, as it is online – and I think everything one puts online is in some way for self-promotion. For me, it’s also a way to share my learning and experiences with others. Also, Jen tells me it has helped me be a better writer – which is something I always strive for.

    On a related note, if you can share the stuff you are presenting for the conference about self promotion, I’d be interested to read it. I feel like I have a solid digital presence, but not many people look at it.

    Ok, I am all done being Debbie Downer. Overall, I am very happy with the Dean Files, as well as my own CV type website. I feel like it gives people to know more about me, as well as gives me a leg up in the job market!

    Jason Dean

    July 7, 2010 at 2:42 PM

  4. Also, do you have a Polaroid camera and film? Envious.

    Jason Dean

    July 7, 2010 at 3:49 PM

  5. It would be fun if you were closer to PA! I am always happy to get comments on my blog, but it’s not my driving force. If you write about what you love, I feel like the comments will come on their own, and if not, at least you got to sort out your thoughts in writing instead of in your head.

    I will certainly share the information my panel is gathering for our presentation. We’re working on a resource list to distribute at the session so I will post that here as well. I agree that having an online presence gives you a leg up in the job market (although there are people out there who feel differently!).

    Nope, no Polaroid camera (sadly) just Poladroid: http://www.poladroid.net/

    Erin

    July 8, 2010 at 9:24 AM

  6. I vote for living in an area closer to PA!

    Also, Erin, I think being aware of a tendency to sequester oneself is good. It is easy to do. However, I am willing to bet that this experience will make you a better daughter, sister, and friend to your family in the long run as you will grow and mature in ways that will shed new light on these long-term relationships. Hooray for branching out and hooray for all you have achieved and are sure to achieve in the future!

    Jen

    July 9, 2010 at 10:33 AM


Leave a Reply

