Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Things you need to know about.

with 7 comments

Many things have been happening as of late. Some of them are culminations of projects I’ve been working on for a long time, some of them are new discoveries, and the worst of them is my annual reappointment process which is a major time-suck. Here are some of the fun ones:

LACUNY InstituteOn October 23rd I’ll be part of a panel addressing “Issues in Next Generation Librarianship” along with Jason Kucsma and Emily Drabinski. If you’re in the area, please come out to support us and join the discussion regarding inter-generational workforces, among other things. Our panel is going to be moderated by Dr. Marie L. Radford from Rutgers University and the Institute will also feature keynote speaker Stanley Wilder. I feel honored to have been selected for the panel and am looking forward to my trip to NYC, which includes a weekend with the one and only Miss Ashley Rath who will be in town working on The Apprentice. Holla!


swissmiss

I don’t know how I found out about this blog, but I sure am glad it happened. Swissmiss is a design blog and studio run by Tina Roth Eisenberg out of NYC. Charming design. Fun and inspiring posts. People, this is the blog I purposely mark as unread in my Google Reader so that I have something to look forward to during those random rough spots throughout the day. You really need to check it out.


PaLA Annual Conference

During the 2009 Pennsylvania Library Association (PaLA) Annual Conference I’ll be participating in two panel discussions. You can see me on Tuesday, October 20th for “Emerging Leaders Showcase: Pennsylvania Librarians Leading the Profession” with Jennifer Jarson (Muhlenberg College) and Rebecca Metzger (Lafayette College) and on Wednesday, October 21st for “Got Game? Bring it! Gaming in Libraries” with Greg Szczyrbak (Millersville University & my mentor!), Curtis Datko & Miroslaw Liwosz (Alvernia University), and in a last minute lineup change,Β  Ryan Sittler (California University). Let me know if you’re going to be at the conference, and we can meet up or share a meal! And as always, I appreciate your support at the sessions πŸ™‚ There are a lot of interesting sessions scheduled, and in particular, I’d like to point out “PALS: PaLA Academy of Leadership Studies” on Monday (The exceptional inaugural class of PALS talking about their experiences and projects), and “When Students Go Mobile: The Effects of Smartphones on Information Literacy and Academic Library Service” on Tuesday (which I’m moderating and sounds awesome).

So what have you all been up to lately? Anything fun and exciting?

Written by Erin Dorney

October 5, 2009 at 9:58 AM

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Erin, you are such a rockstar! Congrats on these presentations! I wish I could come cheer you on and hear what you have to say. Any chance you’ll be posting your presentations on your blog?

    I follow a few design blogs myself, including: decor8, Design*Sponge, and Young House Love. But the most inspiring blog I love to read (apart from yours, of course) is Tea and Cookies (which is more like a food and stories blog than a design one).

    Melissa

    October 5, 2009 at 11:16 AM

  2. Aw thanks Melissa! I wish you weren’t all the way on the other side of the country so we could do more together! πŸ™‚ No idea about posting the panels. We could see if anyone is recording, and if I find out they are, I will totally post the link here on my blog.

    Thanks for the design blog recommendations! I’m adding them to my reader now πŸ™‚ Hope all is well out in CA!

    Erin

    October 5, 2009 at 1:06 PM

  3. Erin, you did not mention your ACRL podcast, which I just listened to πŸ™‚ I second the please post your presentations if possible. I’ve been busy with the new quarter of library school, and I joined the ACRL-Residency Interst Group, and am slowly taking over their website and ML. Thanks to you both for all the design blogs, I need the inspriation to make the website more interesting, it’s very dark at the moment.

    http://acrl.ala.org/residency/

    Hope to be seeing you at MidWinter!

    Kiyomi

    October 5, 2009 at 4:12 PM

  4. Hi Kiyomi – You’re right! I missed that one, I’ll add it as a post tomorrow πŸ™‚ Good luck with your new semester – what courses are you taking? Looks like the Residency Interest Group has a decent website framework for you to work from, good luck with it! Let me know if you need any usability testing or feedback. And thanks for reading, I’m looking forward to meeting you at Midwinter – we should all get together there!

    Erin

    October 5, 2009 at 4:42 PM

  5. Hi Erin – Thanks! I’m taking Collection Development, Intro to Web Design for Info. Orgs., and Foundations of Information Systems. It’s a little on the heavy side but I wanted to get them out of the way so that I would have more time my last 2 quarters for job searching. Once we decide what we’re going to do with the ACRL-RIG site and start trying it out I will definitely take you up on that offer of feedback!

    Where are you staying for MidWinter? So far I’ve got 3 out of 4 nights at the main hotel build into the convention center, just waiting to hear back about the 4th πŸ™‚

    Kiyomi

    October 5, 2009 at 5:04 PM

  6. Ooo good idea leaving time for job searching! Always good to think ahead. I’m staying with library_chan at the Westin – sorry I didn’t get back to you in time re:twitter inquiry about roommates. It was during that busy period (I handed in my reappointment paperwork tonight, hoorary!). Are you at the same hotel then? I don’t remember which one is built into the convention center, but I think ours is right near it…

    Erin

    October 5, 2009 at 10:47 PM

  7. That’s okay, I’m glad you got your paper work in! πŸ™‚ I am at the Westin Boston Waterfront which I think is where you are staying too. I talked to a few people and they all told me, stay at the hotel attached to the conference center it is not worth the savings for the trouble of staying farther away.

    Kiyomi

    October 6, 2009 at 12:30 AM


Leave a Reply

