Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

ALA 2009 – Sunday

with 2 comments

Sunday was a busy day as well. I started out with the PRMS Swap & Shop in the exhibit hall. It was so heavily geared toward public libraries that I didn’t pick up much. I am pretty disappointed that more academic libraries don’t submit materials, and my experience really strengthened my resolution to submit something next year. I did pick up some nicely-designed pieces including the Northern Kentucky one book one community brochure, the Southwestern Indiana one book one community brochure, the Ela Area Public Library Anne Frank Exhibit and Special Event booklet (very awesome!), the Melsa Metro Public Libraries short film competition mailer, and the Grand Rapids Public Library Spilled Ink book club brochure. All of these items will be going on my office “wall of inspiration,” a bulletin board filled with well-designed promotional materials.

Swap 'n Shop

After wandering around the exhibits for a bit, I met up with two PA colleagues for lunch. We discussed our conference and EL experiences and did a bit of planning for an upcoming presentation. We will be doing a session at the Pennsylvania Library Association Annual Conference in Harrisburg this October. The presentation is going to be about our experiences and projects from the ALA Emerging Leaders program. If you’re in town for the conference, you should probably come see us!

Post-lunch was my first meeting with the ACRL 2011 Conference Planning Committee. We have such a great group of people working on the next conference! I am very excited and a little bit nervous. I’m really jumping right in as a co-chair of the virtual conference, but I am confident that my co-chair will help steer me in the right direction. The 2011 ACRL conference is going to be in Philadelphia, so all of you PA people take note. And if you can’t make it in person, please consider signing up or submitting proposals for the virtual conference!

After the meeting concluded, I accompanied one of my colleagues over to the Sheraton for a PA Librarians meetup! It was fun to chat with people I know (and somehow know me!) from PaLA about the conference and our nightmare of a budget back home. After some food and drink I headed back down Michigan Ave to get ready for the OCLC Blog Salon. The Salon was fun, and I got to meet a few (new to me) bloggers/twitterers (including Amy Kearns, who I actually sat next to on the airport shuttle w/out realizing it & Bobbi Newman from Librarian By Day) as well as reconnect with some people I met at the ALA Midwinter OCLC Blog Salon (including Lori Reed from Library Trainer). There are tons of people I wanted to meet there, but alas. Maybe next time.

For dinner we tried Nui Japanese Fusion Lounge for some sushi. It was probably the most delicious I have ever had! We started out sharing a seafood crepe and an order of edamame (addicted much?!). Then we split two rolls: mellow yellow (fresh Norwegian salmon, tempura crunch, avocado, spicy mayo, topped w/ mango & ginger sauce) and salmon delight (fresh scallop, Alaskan shredded crab, cucumber, radish sprout, topped w/ fresh Norwegian salmon, avocado & thin sliced lemon). And we had the most delicious desert – hot chocolate cake. So good! I tried a glass of plum wine as well, which was sweet and yummy.

Written by Erin Dorney

July 21, 2009 at 1:44 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was great to meet you! ALA is so hectic I wish we’d run into each other again.

    Bobbi

    July 22, 2009 at 6:56 AM

  2. Ditto! It was great to meet you too!

    Lori Reed

    July 22, 2009 at 9:36 AM


Leave a Reply

