Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Welcome to Chicago!

with 2 comments

Today was the first day of ALA Annual for me, which consisted of the Emerging Leaders workshop & poster session. I am happy to report that everything went well and it was a pleasure to see my peers graduate from the program. Although I have been talking virtually with many of the 100+ 2009 ELs (via Twitter, Facebook, email, etc), it was nice to see everyone in person again. It has been a while since Midwinter in Denver!

We did some more leadership analysis and had lots of discussion/feedback regarding the program overall. I find it very encouraging that the program planners are asking for our feedback and seem to be dedicated to improving the overall experience for everyone. The poster session drew many more people than I thought it would, which was awesome! Thanks to everyone who came out for it. Here is a picture from when we were setting up. There should be more online soon with our whole team and stuff, so I will post when they are uploaded by various people.

2009 EL Team L

Our project information can be found on the ALA Emerging Leaders wiki here: http://wikis.ala.org/emergingleaders/index.php/Project_L_(2009). We’re hoping to work closely with ALA to put out a more formal report in the near future – something like a white paper or article.

So far I have met lots of people, reconnected with others, and enjoyed some amazing food! Last night we went to MK The Restaurant where I tried the pommes frites with truffle cream (my first time tasting truffle cream – amazing!), seared Maine diver scallops with English peas, pickled breakfast radishes and minted pea purée, and a delicious dessert consisting of licorice-flavored ice cream and strawberries. Tonight we visited Mana Food Bar where I had grilled asparagus with spicy miso mustard and sesame roasted peppers, and grilled eggplant served with sweet miso sauce. Mmm! You can probably gather that I’m rooming with a foodie, Melissa (Librarychan). She’s teaching me all sorts of Mac tips & dinner/taxi etiquette. I would be lost without her!

Tomorrow is a super busy day so I’m off to bed!

Written by Erin Dorney

July 11, 2009 at 12:55 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so pumped that you got to experience Mana Food Bar. That is simply my favorite new restaurant in the city! So nice to have veg. food that isn’t fake meat. No offense meant to Chicago Diner, of course. 🙂

    http://yolaleah.wordpress.com

    yolaleah

    August 6, 2009 at 12:29 PM

  2. It was so delish! 🙂

    Erin

    August 7, 2009 at 12:25 AM


Leave a Reply

