Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

2009 ALA Annual schedule (draft!).

leave a comment »

So… I finally got around to planning my ALA conference schedule. Busy busy! Let me know if you want to try to meet up – I have lots of meal times open for friends. If you see me at the conference, say hello and don’t be offended if I give you a blank look. It will pass. I think everyone should wear their avatars on their name badges so that I can recognize them. That or their twitter names. All in all, I am very excited for my first Annual conference and my first visit to Chicago!

Thursday

12:46 – Flight arrives

5 – Dinner with my Emerging Leaders group

7:30-9:30 – Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

Friday

8:30-3 – Emerging Leaders workshop

3-5 – Emerging Leaders poster session in McCormick Place W-185 (come see what I’ve been working on with my team for the past 6 months! A survey of millennial librarians/library workers relating to professional associations)

5-7 – YALSA Happy Hour and Fashion Show

Saturday

8-10 – OCLC To Be or Not to Be…DRM-free

10:30-12 – Academic Libraries and International Librarianship

(or) What does Gaming have to do with Books, Anyway? Justifications for Games in Libraries

(or) Washington Office Breakout Session I: The Future of Libraries

12-1:30 – EBSCO Academic Library Luncheon (maybe, I haven’t registered for this yet, so who knows)

1:30-3 – Emerging Leaders Salon (http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=99464360411)

3:30-5:30 – Leadership Development in Transition: Steering the Ship from Helm and Deck

(or) Collection Development 2.0: The Changing Administration of Collection Development

7 – ALA/ProQuest Scholarship Bash at The Art Institute of Chicago

10 – ALA Facebook Meetup at the Billy Goat Tavern (http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=122307208008)

Sunday

8-10 – Listening to the Customer: Using Assessment Results to Make a Difference

11-12 – PRMS Swap ‘n’ Shop

12-1 – Lunch @ Au Bon Pain

1:30-3 – ACRL
 2011 
National 
Conference 
Coordinating
 Committee 
Meeting

3:30-5:30 – ACRL Popular Culture & Libraries Discussion Group

5–8 – OCLC Blog Salon (http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=94768164513)

6:30-8:30 – Syracuse University Alumni Reception at Bin 36 Restaurant

Monday

8-12 – ACRL 
2011 
National 
Conference 
Component 
Committees
 Meeting
 (I’m the 2011 Co-chair for the ACRL Virtual Conference Committee!)

1:35-1:50 – Chapter Relations Committee II (presenting Emerging Leaders project to the ALA Membership Committee)

1:50-3 – Ban those @#$*%! Comic Books, Graphic Novels, and Censorship

3-4 – Staffing the NMRT Booth in the exhibit hall

5:30 -7:30 – Reception for the ASPCA Henry Bergh Children’s Book Awards for Excellence in Humane Literature

Tuesday

11-12 – Staffing the NMRT Booth in the exhibit hall

Wednesday

11:40 – Flight departs

Written by Erin Dorney

June 30, 2009 at 6:17 PM

Leave a Reply

