Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

In the hopper…

leave a comment »

I have quite a few things going on at the moment, including:

  • Emerging Leaders team project. I’m working with 3 other ELs from Kansas, New York & South Carolina on a survey for millennials regarding association (ALA) wants and needs. Once our survey is ready, I’ll be begging you all to take it and/or forward it to your library friends. Thanks in advance! We will be sharing the results during a poster session at the 2009 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.
  • Peer-reviewed academic outreach article for the 2009 scholarly print edition of NMRT Footnotes. I just got my reviewer comments back and have until the end of March to rework and send the article back to the editors. It’s my first shot at peer-reviewed, so we’ll see!
  • ‘Locally made’ encyclopedia article for the SAGE Green Consumerism reference project. Basically I have to describe ‘locally made’ in 1,500 words by May 1.
  • SSHELCO meeting panel discussion. I’m coordinating a panel discussion for the 2009 Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education Library Cooperative (SSHELCO) meeting on academic library outreach. We’re going to be sending out a survey shortly to ask about your outreach questions, which will then be addressed during the session. Stay tuned for more!
  • My first ‘Job of a Lifetime’ column for C&RL News. The first interview will be conducted shortly with publication sometime this spring if everything goes as planned.

I’m also working on an additional tab for the top of my blog where I’ll be posting examples of some of my print design work, just for the sake of having it all collected somewhere for future reference. Maybe others will be able to learn or draw inspiration from my work. I know I like to see other designs when I’m working on a project of my own. I will eventually be holding up my end of the bargain with a post about Harvey Milk (for the Dorney/Rath blog bash – See Ashley’s post in the meantime).

Tickets have been ordered to see Neko Case, New Found Glory & Bayside, and The National this spring (different shows, of course)! On that note, I’m out! Tell me, what are you currently working on?

Written by Erin Dorney

March 5, 2009 at 4:01 AM

Leave a Reply

