Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

2008/2009 mashup.

with 3 comments

Erin

Donnie: How can you do that?
Frank: I can do anything I want. And so can you.

– Donnie Darko

Reflecting always reminds me that I’m on the right path.
What’s your resolution?

Work Update

  • Finished (survived?) my first post-MLIS semester as a tenure-track librarian at a university. Overall very satisfied and still excited. Is that normal?
  • Millersville University Library just launched its Facebook page (become a fan!), we’re holding a game night in February (poster 1 : poster 2), and I’m working on outreach to students, faculty, staff and community members. Um, loving it! I have my own office with new furniture, a huge desk and an intern helping out for the spring semester: the best part is that she wants to be a librarian!
  • During the course of 2008 I reviewed 14 books, wrote 4 articles, presented 4 poster sessions, did 3 presentations, attended 2 workshops, 2 conferences, 1 unconference and 1 webinar. And only posted 33 entries to libraryscenester… whoops.

Life Update

  • Looking for a new apartment in the city of Lancaster, enjoying what the city has to offer – specifically the market(s), Square One Coffee, the secret alleyways, brick sidewalks, residing in the oldest inland city in the country, and some gems of new friends.
  • 2008 marked the first September since 1989 that I have not been enrolled in a formal education program. For 19 of my 24 years of living, I have been learning in Kendall, Rochester & Syracuse. In 2009 I continue with my first stint in PA: taking my first course towards an MA in English with a concentration in Creative Writing from West Chester University of Pennsylvania.
  • Missing my family immensely.
  • Exploring via bike, testing sushi places within walking distance, scouring thrift stores (best finds of ’08 include a brand new french press & a Visions Corningware Cranberry saucepan w/lid) listening to new music (She & Him), podcasts (radiolab) & seeing sweet films (Slumdog Millionaire, MILK).
  • Best show of 2008 = Neko Case in Ithaca, NY.

Ohh 2009… You pounced onto me like a kitten onto a ball of catnip. The things I have in store for you!

(…first Midwinter, first ALA Annual, cross country road trip, Anthony Raneri solo shows, ASHLEYah!… ya know, the norm)

Written by Erin Dorney

January 17, 2009 at 7:29 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad everything is going so well for you! Also, your new website is adorable! (I’m not sure how long you’ve had it this way since I usually read your RSS feed.) What do you use to create your headers? Illustrator?

    librarychan

    January 18, 2009 at 11:56 PM

  2. Thanks Melissa! I just updated the look of it a few days ago. I figured most people who read it probably do RSS, but it’s so much fun I couldn’t resist. I wish I could change the stylesheet, but you have to upgrade and pay to do that. Meh. The one that’s up there now was made in Illustrator, but I have done a couple in Photoshop and InDesign as well.

    Erin

    January 19, 2009 at 10:34 PM

  3. Wow. I can’t believe you did all that stuff in 2008. You are amazing!!! …and that is why I love you. Thanks for the shout-out. I missss you!!

    ashley

    January 26, 2009 at 7:33 AM


Leave a Reply

