Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

2008 ACRL/NY Symposium: Green Academic Library Outreach

with 7 comments

Friday I am presenting at the 2008 ACRL/NY Symposium “The 21st Century Library: Targeting the Trends” at Baruch College in NYC. I am doing a non-traditional poster session. By non-traditional, I mean that I do not actually have a poster (say what?!). I do not have a poster because Amtrak guidelines would not allow me to bring my large poster board on the train. Due to the fact that my non-poster presentation is about practicing environmentally friendly methods of academic library outreach, I decided to practice what I preach (or do my best to try). I am taking mass transit from Lancaster to NYC as well as within the city, my non-poster did not require expensive printing or foam core spray mounting (rendering the poster board virtually useless after one presentation), and is fashioned from recycled materials.

As for handouts, I was supposed to print 170. Instead, I printed 75, on 30% post-consumer content recycled paper and I have sign up sheets for when/if I run out. Anyone who signs up during the Symposium will get a personal email from me including an electronic PDF of my one page handout, for their online viewing pleasure. Handouts are also available here on my blog and on the Symposium website for interested parties.

Please feel free to use any of these materials in your own way/shape/form. Many of my ideas and inspirations came from various blogs and articles, most of which I tried to link to here. Thank you!

My non-poster session materials:

Web Handout

Print Handout

Sign Up Sheet

Handy-dandy resources:

http://greeningyourlibrary.wordpress.com/

http://thegreenlibraryblog.blogspot.com/

http://www.google.com/hauntedhouse08/tips.html

http://www.epa.gov/osw/wycd/grn-mtgs/index.htm

http://ecopreneurist.com/2008/05/09/stocking-the-green-office-sustainable-supplies/

http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?fuseaction=bygtw.showSplash

http://awesome.goodmagazine.com/marketplace/010/010plants_for_health.html

http://www.sciam.com/podcast/episode.cfm?id=FC1B957F-ECE5-FA78-69885F893440286B

Creative Commons License

Written by Erin Dorney

December 5, 2008 at 4:27 AM

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Exciting to see more of these green library presentations (or non-posters 🙂 and modeling of the behavior!

    filarwilliams

    December 5, 2008 at 10:17 PM

  2. I love the materials you posted! Excellent design. I hope it goes well for you!

    librarychan

    December 7, 2008 at 5:21 AM

  3. Pretty good… hope to see you in NYLA next year.. are you going to the ALA ACRL event in Seattle? I don’t believe I am going.. but got word of it.

    animemiz

    December 10, 2008 at 2:43 PM

  4. Thanks everyone! Linda, I’m not going to be at ACRL in Seattle… no money to attend 😦 Maybe next time!

    Erin

    December 10, 2008 at 2:57 PM

  5. Love your posters! And big thumbs up for practicing what you preach. I’m sure it helped make things resonate with the audience while you were presenting. 🙂

    Miss you!

    Lindsey

    December 15, 2008 at 9:43 PM

  6. Hey Erin- I really wanted to meet you at ALA but I guess it wasn’t meant to be! I’m interested in the things you’re doing with green libraries and I’m glad you posted all of these resources. Keep in touch! Jaime Hammond, fellow Emerging Leader and green-agendaed librarian

    Jaime

    January 27, 2009 at 8:03 PM

  7. Thanks Jaime! Sorry we didn’t get to meet up. Find me on Facebook and hopefully we can get together at Annual. 🙂

    Erin

    January 28, 2009 at 1:55 AM


Leave a Reply

