Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

2009 ALA Emerging Leader.

with 8 comments

It’s nice to get a dose of support every now and then.

Although only going from New York to Pennsylvania, my move in July of 2008 was a first. I grew up along the shore of Lake Ontario, schlepping through the snow and ice with every lake effect storm. After moving closer to the city of Rochester for college, I began to learn about and enjoy participating in a more urban lifestyle. Leaving home for my first job after graduate school meant leaving behind family (my parents, two younger brothers, uncle and grandmother), friends (from preschool, high school, college and beyond), colleagues, pets, beloved city haunts (The Little, Boulder Coffee Company, California Rollin’), and more. In the biggest step of my life thus far, I felt as though I was literally jumping out of the safety net.

But hark! I was simply climbing from one net to another! During my second month as a Pennsylvania resident, I was notified that out of numerous applicants, I was selected as the 2009 Pennsylvania Library Association sponsored ALA Emerging Leader. Today I received the official notification that I was selected and will be a member of the 2009 Emerging Leader class. Almost overshadowing my joy regarding attending my first ALA Midwinter Meeting (in Denver, CO) and ALA Annual Conference (in Chicago, IL) is the overwhelming feeling of support I have gained from my new state colleagues. To be selected as a future Pennsylvania library leader speaks volumes about the willingness of the association (and via top down governance, the entire state) to accept, appreciate, and support (financially, professionally, and emotionally) librarians of the future.

And so, Oscar-acceptance-speech-stylie, I would like to extend my thanks to the following people who helped make this possible: Bob, Morna & Jen for writing me countless letters of recommendations, my interim library director Marjorie for committing to support my attendance in this program even before I came to work at Millersville, the Pennsylvania Library Association & South Central Chapter for supporting me as a new librarian, and my family and the boyf for not slapping me upside the head during the tense months we all spent waiting to hear if I was selected!

More details to come!

Written by Erin Dorney

September 19, 2008 at 7:12 PM

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! How exciting!

    librarychan

    September 19, 2008 at 7:53 PM

  2. Thanks Melissa! How are things going?

    Erin

    September 19, 2008 at 7:56 PM

  3. Congrats!

    D.T.Kelly

    September 19, 2008 at 10:16 PM

  4. Congratulations Erin! You deserve it.

    Amy

    September 21, 2008 at 2:45 PM

  5. Congratulations!

    Jim DelRosso

    September 21, 2008 at 8:42 PM

  6. Great news, Erin! Congratulations!!

    Lorraine Porcello

    September 22, 2008 at 1:52 PM

  7. Erin, CONGRATULATIONS!

    Jill Hurst-Wahl

    October 10, 2008 at 1:44 AM

  8. Congrats, Erin. I hope your experience proves to be better than mine. Make sure to take time to meet as many of the other folks in the program as you can. I didn’t do that enough, but did meet a few great librarians.

    DerikB

    October 16, 2008 at 5:43 PM


Leave a Reply

