Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Cornell University Poster Session.

with one comment

Monday was my first visit to the Cornell University campus in Ithaca, NY. I didn’t have much time to poke around, but I would describe what I did see of the campus as beautiful and enormous (over 20 libraries!!). It was a good thing that I had guides to and from the parking garage I was in (thanks to Syracuse Alum Ana Guimaraes, Head of Reference Services – Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections -2B Carl A. Kroch Library and Susan Kendrick, Public Services Librarian – Management Library – The Johnson School at Cornell University) because I would have gotten lost twice!

I was there presenting my Unconference poster for the Cornell University Libraries Professional Development Week. Monday was the kickoff of a week of professional development events being held on campus. The keynote speaker was David Lankes, who gave a great presentation on “Library Science in the Ivy League” (streaming webcast available on his blog). I was lucky enough to have taken a campus course with Lankes last summer at Syracuse (before he went on a sabbatical), and his presentation reminded me of why I so much enjoy his passion and appreciate his research. If Syracuse students are reading this blog, try to take a course with him during your program, you will not regret it.

There were LOTS of Syracuse alumni and current students in the audience. I had the opportunity to speak with a few students who were just beginning the program as well as some who were well on their way. Some of my favorite conversations took place with people who had no idea what an unconference was, but walked away nodding their heads and saying “I’m intrigued” or “I like it”. I got to meet Jim DelRosso, author of The Nascent Librarian, and had some great talks with him about the importance of informal learning as well as the CAS-DL program at Syracuse. I also spoke with one of the co-chairs for LITA 2009, and they are apparently discussing incorporating an unconference into the traditional conference (either discussion based or using lightning talks). It’s great to see more organizations adopting unconference and camp formats!

I’ll leave you with a link to Bruce Mau’s Incomplete Manifesto for Growth, introduced to me by Curtis Lyons, Director – Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archive at Cornell University. Enjoy!

Written by Erin Dorney

May 21, 2008 at 5:54 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations – you already have amassed quite a portfolio of professional development, and you haven’t yet begun your first full-time librarian job yet!

    Jim Del Rosso is a good dude. Glad you got to meet him.

    Roman

    May 21, 2008 at 8:00 PM


Leave a Reply

