Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

What is an Unconference, Anyway?

with one comment

Today I presented my first poster session at the WNY/O ACRL Spring 2008 Conference in Niagara Falls. I wanted to post my materials here for everyone who was unable to make it. The URLs in my handouts are linked, so feel free to click on them and learn more about unconferences, library camps, and some examples of virtual learning.

UnconferencePoster.pdf

WhatIsAnUnconference.pdf

WebTrainingResources.pdf

I’ve been getting lots of interest in my poster. People seem to have heard of the term unconference but are unsure about what it really is. Some people have mistaken it for a piece of software or a program, which is something I am going to take into consideration for future explanations. One attendee from Canada mentioned that they had tried the library camp theme at their university for students to sort of control their own learning sessions, without much success. However, the idea has potential. Once I have explained the term, most people seem to nod and state that it sounds beneficial.

I’m here with a few other colleagues from RIT, who will be presenting shortly. I plan on adding my thoughts about the speaker sessions sometime this weekend. Also, mega thanks to Bob Chandler for helping me pull all of the supplies together for my poster!

*Picture from page 30 of the Spring 2008 ACRL Chapter Topics newsletter.

Written by Erin Dorney

May 2, 2008 at 5:15 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, Erin! Your poster looks awesome! Congrats on presenting (again).

    Just one more week and I’ll have another thing to congratulate you for! 🙂

    Melissa

    May 4, 2008 at 3:47 AM


Leave a Reply

