Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Graduation & Mountain Bikes.

with 9 comments

Okay, so I’ve been away from my blog for a month now. If anyone is stalking me on here, my apologies. It’s not that I’ve decided that blogging isn’t for me; no, not at all. I’ve been incredibly busy. I graduate in 19 days with my MLIS, a task that has been two years in the making. Everything is wrapping up with my final two courses (Survey of Telecommunication and Digital Information Retrieval). In between my last two group assignments, I’ve managed to have two poster sessions accepted for next month: one on May 2nd at the WNY/O ACRL Spring 2008 Conference and one on May 19th at Cornell University Libraries Professional Development Week. I’m extremely excited, as these are my first poster presentations (minus the practice session we did the first semester of library school) and feel very honored to have been accepted. I hope to eventually get copies of my poster linked here on my blog so that everyone can see them. I’ve also been pretty busy with the job search (applications, interviews, life-altering decisions… yay!).

Amidst all of the above, I had the chance to be fitted for and purchase my first mountain bike (a Giant Cypher). I’ve been saving for this bike for a long time, and am really looking forward to testing it out. I picked up a nice helmet (a Giro Hex – gotta protect the brain now that all this library information is inside of it!) and a brand new hydration pack (a CamelBak L.U.X.E). My bike is on backorder because I’m so short I needed a size small, but its delivery coincides perfectly with my graduation. School will be out and I’ll have lots of time to ride! This will probably become a hybrid library-mountain-biking-blog for a bit.

It’s finally spring and seems like everyone is busy. Tell me, what are you up to?

Written by Erin Dorney

April 22, 2008 at 5:14 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on being accepted for a poster session at WNY/O ACRL! They haven’t announced the poster sessions on the conference web site yet, so this is the first I’ve heard about it. Jen and I will be presenting at that conference, so we’ll see you there.

    Roman

    April 22, 2008 at 2:32 PM

  2. Ooo cool bike! I know very little about moutain biking so i’m excited to hear more.
    I finished two of my courses already so I only have one and a final paper left to worry about this year. I still have one year of school, but I’m having a hell of time trying to find an internship which blows. Also, I need to find a new job by May! That shouldn’t be too bad though, I haven’t had a difficult time finding jobs in Boston so far.

    Other than that, I’m starting to garden more now that I have a little backyard. I started with some tomatos even though I don’t like them raw, they make so many delicious things! I guess I’ll just have to give away the extra haha. I’m mostly going to plant flowers and some herbs. All organic certified heirloom seeds of course (haha just kidding, kind of. I feel like such a yuppie)

    Kara

    April 22, 2008 at 3:47 PM

  3. ps- did you hear anything about this article in the LA times? they mentioned Syracuse U
    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-libraries17apr17,0,5658028.story

    Kara

    April 22, 2008 at 5:20 PM

  4. Thanks Roman! I’m very excited. RIT Libraries will be well represented in both poster and presentation areas! I think they will be updating the website soon. My poster is going to be about unconferences, so hopefully it will be a little unique!

    Kara – I know little about mountain biking as well, so this will be a good forum for us to learn. That is, me falling a lot and getting injured and you learning from it, hehe. What kinds of new jobs are you looking for? Oooo I wish I had a garden! Yay for yuppie organic herbs! Haha, I still want to come visit, maybe this summer sometime??

    n00blibrarian

    April 22, 2008 at 5:26 PM

  5. Wow! Congrats on the posters! How in the world did you have time for that? 🙂

    I’m still trucking along, too… Trying to be done with everything by the end of this week or the beginning of next. I can’t believe graduation is so close! Now, to find a job…

    Melissa

    April 22, 2008 at 5:33 PM

  6. Also, that bike is gorgeous. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a beautiful one. Where do you ride? Around town? State parks?

    Melissa

    April 22, 2008 at 5:33 PM

  7. Thanks Melissa! I’m not quite sure… looking back on it, I don’t know how I found the time. I can’t wait until gradation!! Are you going to the rehearsal on Thursday the 8th? Would you like to ride with my friend Andrea and I?

    Once I get my bike in May I’ll be riding all over the place! Do you? It’s not really a road bike (kinda heavy) but it can go on roads, just not long-distances. I’m hoping to do more off-road on some single-track trails. There are a couple of good parks in the area: Dryer, Pinnacle Hill and Tryon are a few.

    n00blibrarian

    April 22, 2008 at 6:50 PM

  8. Wow, I didn’t even know about graduation rehearsal… haha. I’d love to join you. I don’t mind driving. Would you mind emailing me the details?

    I don’t bike ride anymore since my bike was ruined a few years ago. I did love riding, though. That sounds like a lot of fun!

    Melissa

    April 22, 2008 at 8:03 PM

  9. Congratulations, Erin, on all the accomplishments! Everything you do or are involved with is better for your contributions. To me, as your friend, this string of accomplishments is in direct correlation to what you put into everything you touch – enthusiasm, joy, intelligence, passion, inventiveness and F-U-N! Wherever your career takes you, others will greatly benefit from your positive energy and collaborative generosity.

    I have been immersed in family problems, work stresses, and buried in the launch of Minus the Imple, but I have still kept one eye on you and all your many activities; largely because you provide me with a glimpse of what it can be like to be unfettered by bitterness or petty resentment. Thank God you came into my life when you did.

    Be careful riding that bike, but enjoy it to the max! See you soon…

    misterdizz

    April 26, 2008 at 12:12 PM


Leave a Reply

