Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Web two point what?

with 6 comments

Welcome to Erin 2.0!

Below I have compiled a list of all the websites/applications that I currently have a profile/account on that might fall under a loose definition of Web 2.0 (interactive, social, collaborative, sharing, login). It was interesting to put together, and I didn’t realize that I had this many user-names and passwords that I (on occasion) remember correctly.

  • Flickr – Photo sharing
    • I have photos listed as private as well as public.
  • Facebook – Social networking
    • I have a profile accessible to friends only.
  • Blogger – Blogging
    • I have a private blog available to friends and family and two public blogs: one that was created for a Syracuse University course and one that was created to describe my SUNYLA Conference experience.
  • WordPress – Blogging
    • I have a public blog (the one you are reading!).
  • Livejournal – Blogging/journal
    • In high school I had a private Livejournal account, which I have since deleted. For a current Syracuse University course I was required to make a new account in order to contribute to a class blog.
  • LinkedIn – Social networking
    • I have a private profile (defeating the purpose?).
  • Second Life – Virtual world
    • I have an avatar and am exploring Second Life.
  • AOL Instant Messenger – Messaging system
    • I have had various AIM screen names (SN) since I was at least 14. I currently use my AIM SN to chat with friends only (and do not typically disseminate my SN to colleagues).
  • MSN Messenger – Messaging system
    • I have a public MSN SN used for internal work communications.
  • Pidgin – Messaging system
    • I use Pidgin to log into my work SN and my AIM SN at the same time, allowing me to talk with friends and peers simultaneously.
  • Inbox – Email
    • I use inbox.com for my email account. It’s free, has lots of cool features (notes, multiple calendars, on-line storage space), and is very good with spam and advertisements (very unobtrusive).
  • eSnips – Web storage
    • I heard about eSnips at the 2007 NYLA Conference in Buffalo, NY. It’s a free, web-based storage site where you can upload and save documents and other important items. I use it to store papers for class that I can then access from home and work without having to email them to myself every time!
  • Google Reader – RSS feed reader
    • I use Google Reader to stay abreast of many blog updates.
  • Roc Wiki – Wiki
    • I am a member of, but have yet to substantially contribute to this community wiki. However, I visit it all the time, mostly to find out restaurant information.
  • Wetpaint – Wiki
  • Webshots – Photo sharing
    • I used Webshots in college to organize digital photos. Because most of them involved rather unprofessional behavior, they are now located in private albums unavailable to the public.
  • LibraryThing – Book cataloging
    • I have a LibraryThing account to share my reading lists with friends as well as keep track of what books I currently own in my personal collection. I recently reached the limit for a free account and am thinking about purchasing a life membership for US $25.00. I also receive occasional free books as an Early Reviewer, which is totally sweet.
  • Del.icio.us – Social bookmarking
    • I have a del.icio.us account with public and private bookmarks saved.

The items in this list (below) are applications/websites where I used to have a profile/account and for one reason or another, no longer do.

  • Ning – Social networking
    • I was introduced to Ning during a summer course at Syracuse University. However, after we used it for class, I deleted my account because I just didn’t like it. It doesn’t seem as intuitive or user-friendly as other social networking sites, and I found myself not logging in for weeks at a time.
  • MySpace – Social networking
    • I used to have a MySpace page, but deleted it because it seemed rather pointless to have both a MySpace and a Facebook account with virtually identical friends. More of my friends are on Facebook anyway, so I just deleted my MySpace account. I also find that Facebook has more options available for privacy settings (compared to the all or nothing of MySpace).

    Hopefully this can give readers a glimpse at what one 23 year old is using on a day to day basis to accomplish her personal, professional, and educational goals. I am using 18 different services, mostly .coms. Boy, would I be lost if the net went down! Eventually, widespread OpenID may let me log into many of them using the same user-name and password, a novel thought!

    How many of these applications/websites do you use? What other services do you use? Which services can libraries utilize? What are your thoughts on Web 2.0?

    Written by Erin Dorney

    February 12, 2008 at 4:00 AM

    6 Responses

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. I use(d) a lot of the websites/tools you listed: Flickr, Facebook, Blogger, Livejournal, AOL, MSN, Google Reader, LibraryThing, MySpace. I’ve also deleted a bunch since going to graduate school. Some other sites I find useful are Twitter, Google Documents, Last.fm, Skype, and Google Talk.

      I think it’s really neat when I hear about libraries using LibraryThing. Wouldn’t it be neat if a library you were a member of was your friend on LibraryThing? How convenient!

      I love Web 2.0, but it’s so day-to-day for me that I often forget what it was like before things like Facebook.

      Melissa

      February 12, 2008 at 6:03 PM

    2. Hi Melissa! I haven’t gotten into Twitter, but I have heard a lot about it. One day I’d like to check it out (maybe when I’m done with all these telecom questions, lol). My cousin uses Skype to talk to her parents while she is studying abroad, and loves it!

      I agree, it’s hard to remember a time when I wasn’t using all of these applications to connect with people and information. Joining Facebook as an undergraduate was really the start of it all for me I think. I don’t even think of it as Web 2.0 anymore, because it seems natural. I check my work and personal email, Facebook, and RSS feeds almost every morning.

      n00blibrarian

      February 12, 2008 at 7:03 PM

    3. ahhh web2.0! so many many things to say! let’s break it down 😉

      First, thank you for reminding me of google reader. I had used it for a little while when it first popped up as an add in my gmail, but then forgot about it for so long that 3 of the 5 blogs I had followed no longer exists. (Also, it allows me to read things that might otherwise be blocked by my company’s firewalls. take THAT work!)

      as much as I love Library Thing I really wish it had the web savvy design of shellfari, because I love that particular interface and customizable look. It’s so pretty and shiney!

      I don’t share many of the 2.0 sites with you but I do belong to Hi5 still for some odd reason. It’s like facebook but it was really popular in Europe first and could never hold on to any US demographic. I only send random messages every few months (if not years) and the only reason I don’t delete it is because of the few people on there that aren’t on other sites. Which is silly, those Europeans need to give up their sites and join the facebook bandwagon. 😉

      and LASTLY, I was actually messaging with Thaine on LJ about LJ and how no one seems to use it anymore. Even I have drastically cut down on how much I put out there, but I keep posting every few days/weeks out of habit. If typing weren’t so much easier for me than physically writing in my real journal I would probably just give it up entirely and just use it to keep up with others who do update regularly.

      Kara

      February 26, 2008 at 8:24 PM

    4. okay me again… two last things!

      1- over the weekend both ning AND linkedIn were recommended to me for professional networking purposes. Not sure I want to join either, but I thought of this post as soon as they were mentioned.

      2- I’ve tried out tumblr and I looove it. if you join, look me up. ( http://krazykarot.tumblr.com/ )

      Kara

      March 4, 2008 at 8:37 PM

    5. Hey Kara 🙂 I love that you’re using Google Reader as a work-around for your firewall. HaXor! I haven’t done too much with LinkedIn… I’m not sure why, it’s just not very appealing to me for some reason. I will check out this “tumblr”… I’ve never even heard of it!

      n00blibrarian

      March 4, 2008 at 10:53 PM

    6. Ahh web 2.0… something I am a serious lurker in.

      I have most of the stuff you’ve mentioned, with all of them being similarly tied under the same name.

      AiM on as a invisible user, lj is a friend’s only place, wordpress is public blog, use to pita, xanga occasionally… (the two mentioned things are blogging servers.) Twitter occasionally… Wanted to try second life before it blew out my video card. Also am a member of Library Thing, Google Reader, Del.icio.us…

      animemiz49

      March 18, 2008 at 4:06 AM


    Leave a Reply

    