Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Social Bookmarking Workshop.

with 2 comments

Today I had the opportunity to teach my first library-related tech workshop (something I anticipate doing much of in the future). As a student, this was a great and much appreciated opportunity. RIT Libraries held a Social 2.0 Week last April where I was able to co-present, but this year I was on my own! Previously this week, workshops on Web 2.0 Intro., RSS, and Flick/YouTube were held. Today was mine on Social Bookmarking and tomorrow there is a workshop being offered on Facebook Basics.

Although I’ve done presentations before (as an undergraduate & at various meetings & for graduate school projects), this was the first time I was facilitating a more hands-on type of learning experience. It was fun designing my Power Point (PPT) presentation (yes, boring, I know… but what are the alternatives??) and guiding users through the steps of creating their very own social bookmarking account. I described a few services available and then we spent some time tagging some websites using del.icio.us (my personal fav). Luckily, I had some assistance for the hands-on portion of the workshop from RIT’s Business Librarian. It really made a difference having someone in the audience available to walk around and make sure everyone was doing alright while I talked about different features. I will be assisting her in turn at tomorrow’s Facebook Basics workshop.

The feedback I did receive was positive, however there wasn’t as good of a turn out as I had initially hoped for. In the future, there are a number of things I would like to do differently:

  • Electronic Access: Provide participants with a link to an electronic version of my presentation (PPT) and additional materials. I handed out printouts of my PPT, but even though I linked all of the images and logos to their respective websites, people can’t click on them and go there directly with a piece of paper. I would like to provide the option of reviewing the presentation after the workshop in case people would like to learn at their own pace, or be reminded of a certain aspect they may have missed the first time around. Eventually, I would like to include audio with these presentations so it’s a whole package deal, kind of like a web tutorial.
  • Evaluation: Create a more detailed evaluation sheet. Or perhaps even provide a link to a web form for feedback/comments. Some people might feel uncomfortable telling me what they really thought of the presentation on a piece of paper (while I’m standing right there and they have to hand it to me as they leave). The evaluation sheet available for me today gathered only basic information (stats about the audience, where they heard about the workshop, and a rating scale of 1 – 5). It doesn’t have much room for additional comments, which I would have been interested in hearing.
  • Marketing: More on my part. Although our library has large-scale marketing methods in place, I would like to do more of my own mouth-to-mouth advertising of workshops (especially the ones I’m teaching!). So I’m trying to think of interesting ways I could share information without being intrusive. For example, I probably wouldn’t message all of my RIT Facebook friends/co-workers, but I might create an event advertising the workshop or put the link in my “Posted Items”, forcing it to show up in my News Feed to create more general awareness.
  • Information sharing. The last thing I would like to do is find out more information from workshop participants throughout the course of the workshop. I am interested in knowing things like: Do you know/use Firefox? What’s your knowledge of Social Bookmarking? What do you think it means? Do you have any ideas for how you could use this in your own life? I think that I can learn as much from them (and certainly unique points of view) about new technologies as they can from me.

Thoughts? Your own workshop experiences/tips?

I’m including my PPT here: social-bookmarking.ppt

Written by Erin Dorney

January 24, 2008 at 8:05 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Erin,
    I wish I had known about your workshop! I read your PPT, and it looks really interesting. Though I’ve been pretty up to date with stuff like Flickr, YouTube, and the like, I’ve pretty much missed the whole Social Bookmarking thing. I would have liked to attend your workshop if I’d known about it.

    I think your marketing ideas are really good; I don’t think that advertising to your coworkers via Facebook would really be intrusive, but I do think that it would probably be a huge help for getting the word out.

    Great job! And again, it was great to meet you, finally. πŸ™‚

    Best,
    Melissa

    Melissa

    January 28, 2008 at 3:23 AM

  2. Hi Melissa! Welcome to the blog! I just ran into yours, so I’ll surely be commenting!

    You’re not the only one who didn’t know about the workshop… after I came back to my office one of my co-workers told me that she didn’t even know that I was doing it, and we work a few feet away from each other! It was really a good example of how we get so wrapped up in doing our own projects that we sometimes forget the main part: sharing what we’re working on with others!

    Next time I will do more publicity, and hopefully get a better turn out. If you have any questions or anything about the social bookmarking stuff, just ask me and I’ll help you out. But like all the other Web 2.0 stuff, it’s simple to figure out if you’re interested in learning.

    See ya in the library!
    -Erin πŸ™‚

    n00blibrarian

    February 1, 2008 at 5:12 AM


Leave a Reply

