Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Arrival at the Dorms

leave a comment »

This post is coming to you from the world-renown New Residence Hall (It’s so new they haven’t even named it yet!) at SUNY Maritime!

Yes, that’s right folks, I made it to Maritime without any of the stereotypical “New York City” incidents occurring. I won’t even mention them because I don’t want to perpetuate said stereotypes. Use your imaginations.

Things I currently wish were included in my “suite-style” dorm room accommodations: a wastebasket, a fan, a desk lamp. Must remember these things for my next library conference.

So far I have only made contact with one person (the man at the gatehouse who gave me my room key) and one dog (the gatehouse man’s dog). The dorms are really nice (they look brand new) but are pretty empty so far… unless everyone is just in bed already.

I’m headed to bed myself. My flight got delayed in Rochester because of the T-Storms in NYC, so I bought the book “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.” Has anyone read it? Did you like it? In my opinion, so far, so good!

Tomorrow I will be able to blog something of a little bit more “substance” (as my father would say). For now, adieu!

Written by Erin Dorney

June 13, 2007 at 4:33 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

