Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Intro: SUNYLA 2007

leave a comment »


Hello!

On May 7, 2007, I was chosen by the SUNYLA Professional Development Committee as this year’s recipient of the Daniel F. Kissane Memorial Scholarship. This award allows me to attend the 2007 SUNY Librarians Association Conference at SUNY Maritime.

The 39th Annual SUNYLA Conference, titled “Expanding Our Horizons: Reaching for the Limits” will be held June 13-15. Attending the conference means that I will unfortunately be missing Wallace Library’s first annual Food For Thought event (June 14, 2007). I wish all staff members the best of luck with this event and hope to hear all about it upon my return to the library. In my absence, it is my intention to post directly from the conference regarding what I am learning. Perhaps the sessions I attend at SUNY Maritime will inspire discussion amongst us all regarding issues and trends that libraries are encountering state-wide.

Feel free to respond with your comments or questions on any post I publish. I welcome any insight my peers and fellow staff members may have! This will be my first library conference, so I am not quite sure what to expect. However, I will keep you all updated as to what I am learning.

I will attempt to the highest degree to keep my posts informative and neutral, reporting rather than commenting on the sessions I attend. I would also like to state that the views and information disclosed in this blog are not endorsed by RIT, SUNYLA, or Wallace Library in any way. In the sidebar to the right is a link to the official conference blog. Enjoy!

Written by Erin Dorney

June 5, 2007 at 6:55 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

