Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Books I read in 2012

with 4 comments

2011 was the first year I tracked my reading and it was around this time last year that I set the goal of reading an average of 3 books per month in 2012 (for a minimum of 36 books). I’m happy to report that I exceeded that goal and read a total of 46 books! Check it:

alleghenymonongahelalostworldΒ  areyouthere armingathena bettingmuse bonk buddhaattic buddhist catchingfire chelseagirls damned deviant dove driftwood edna engineempire Every Day (8/28/2012)<br /><br /><br /> by David Levithan faultstars garp inoneperson interrupted jurassicpark kindred daviscompfinal.indd livingdoΒ  lovingfrank meadow natureloved newfuckyou ohpioneers postoffice prettytilt sidemt silence silentwoman silkie sisters Soundsoftheriver stikes surfacing tentsclouds TheWitches virtualrep wiseBlood womenpoetry wutheringheights

You can learn more about the titles on my Goodreads page. According to 5-star ratings, my favorite books were:

  • O Pioneers! by Willa Cather
  • Pretty Tilt by Carrie Murphy
  • The World According to Garp by John Irving (also the longest book I read last year)
  • Betting on the Muse: Poems and Stories by Charles Bukowski
  • The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes by Janet Malcolm
  • The New Fuck You: Adventures in Lesbian Reading by Eileen Myles
  • Driftwood Valley: A Woman Naturalist in the Northern Wilderness by Theodora Stanwell-Fletcher
  • Surfacing by Margaret Atwood
  • Nature I Loved by Bill Geagan
  • Sisters of the Earth: Women’s Prose and Poetry About Nature by Lorraine Anderson
  • Strike Sparks: Selected Poems, 1980-2002 by Sharon Olds
  • Kindred by Octavia Butler

I read over 11,000 pages! What did you read in 2012? Any reading goals or books you’re looking forward to reading during 2013?

Written by Erin Dorney

January 28, 2013 at 9:00 AM

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Healing Woods – Martha Reben — there’s an excerpt of one of her books in “Sisters of the Earth” I think.
    Remarkable Creatures – Tracey Chevalier
    Brilliant traces – Cindy Lou Johnson
    Sum: Forty tales of the afterlives – David Eagleman
    Language of Flowers – Vanessa Diffenbaugh

    — Cause you don’t have enough on your own reading list.

    So sad you didn’t love “Tents in the Clouds” more. One of my favs.

    Other things you should read....

    January 28, 2013 at 9:55 PM

  2. My reading goal this year is to read 52 books.

    Evelyn N. Alfred

    February 1, 2013 at 9:01 AM

  3. I read three of the books you did this year sister (all of them thanks to you). I’m gonna make my own list now, I probably read enough in 2012 to have a somewhat reputable list!

    -Patrick

    Patrick

    February 17, 2013 at 4:35 PM

  4. Thanks for the suggestions & for sharing your goals!

    @Patrick – Can’t wait to see your list!

    Erin Dorney

    March 19, 2013 at 10:04 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,737 other followers