Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Books read in 2011

with 10 comments

Here are the 24 books I read in 2011, which averages out to two books per month. The books came from a variety of places, including libraries, random trips to Target, book sales, borrowed from friends, thrift stores, used book stores, gifted to me… The entire list can be viewed with a brief comment or two, but you can also ask me about any one in particular if it looks intriguing! I think this is the first time I’ve tracked my reading in any consistent way (although I’m sure I forgot one or two). My goal for 2012 is to increase to an average of three books per month (36). Oh, and all of these were read in print, not digital format. Who knows if that will continue now that I have an iPad…

Dark Pool by Ben HowardTo See You Again: A True Story of Love in the Time of War by Betty SchimmelRose by Li Young-LeeNorth to the Night: A Spiritual Odyssey in the Arctic by Alvah SimonThe Baby Thief: The Untold Story of Georgia Tann, the Baby Seller Who Corrupted Adoption by Barbara Bisantz RaymondThomas and Beulah by Rita DoveA Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father by Augusten BurroughsWomen’s Diaries of the Westward Journey by Lillian SchlisselArchaic Smile by A.E. StallingsBeneath the Window: Early Ranch Life in the Big Bend Country by Patricia Wilson ClothierHalf Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeannette WallsThe Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca SklootBossypants by Tina FeyThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsMockingjay by Suzanne Collins.Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K RowlingMurano poem by Mark Doty

Highlights would have to be reading the Harry Potter series (finally) and The Hunger Games series (finally – which I subsequently gifted to my younger brother). I also really loved the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Bossypants, North to the Night, and Beneath the Window.

What did you read in 2011? Any reading goals or books you’re looking forward to reading during 2012?

Written by Erin Dorney

December 28, 2011 at 2:46 PM

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still haven’t finished Harry Potter and before reading this I thought I was the only person in the entire world – glad to see I wasn’t until you finished them. Congrats on that though! Awesome list by the way.

    Cassie

    December 28, 2011 at 5:04 PM

  2. @ Cassie – Thanks for the comment! You are not alone. I had been trying to read them as I found them at thrift stores and book sales but it was going really slow…like, years. So when I saw the paperbacks at Target I just picked them all up and read them over a few weekends. It was worth it :) Happy new year!

    Erin Dorney

    December 28, 2011 at 5:14 PM

  3. I made it through the Hunger Games trilogy this year as well. I read them all aloud with the boyfriend, which made Haymitch all the more entertaining. ^^

    But I think my favorite book read this year was Kyung-Sook Shin’s “Please Look After Mom.” I read the whole thing on the plane ride to ALA over the summer, mostly in tears.

    I’ll be checking out both North to the Light and Beneath the Window, so thanks for the list!

    Meghan (@sidesmirk)

    December 28, 2011 at 7:07 PM

  4. @ Meghan – Thanks for the recommendation, will definitely check out “Please Look After Mom”

    Erin Dorney

    January 2, 2012 at 3:29 PM

  5. Haven’t had much time for reading but will have to check out “Please Look After Mom” and that Hunger Games trilogy. I need to get back into the swing of things. Definitely looking forward to the new Chabon!

    Paul Hollmann

    January 4, 2012 at 1:56 AM

  6. My reading goal is read at least 12 books on my Nook. Most of the books I read are print and I don’t want my Nook to collect dust.

    Evelyn N. Alfred

    January 9, 2012 at 11:41 AM

  7. @ Paul – I definitely recommend the Hunger Games, they’re a quick and fun read. I haven’t read anything by Michael Chabon, but I’ll have to check him out. Thanks for the suggestion!

    @ Evelyn – How do you like reading on the Nook? I am afraid I’d never use one if I bought it, but who knows…

    Erin Dorney

    January 9, 2012 at 12:38 PM

  8. I’ve been keeping track of my yearly reading for the last few years (and like you I usually write up a year end blog post). I started out with an excel spreadsheet then moved onto goodreads which makes it pretty easy to keep track (and it’ll tell you how many pages you’ve read). I usually set a goal of one per week which includes work reading and audiobook listening.

    @Paul – Thanks for the Chabon heads-up, I don’t know how it escaped my notice!

    Dan Newton

    January 18, 2012 at 5:32 PM

  9. Glad I could help!

    Paul

    January 18, 2012 at 11:58 PM

  10. […] 2011 was the first year I tracked my reading and it was around this time last year that I set the goal of reading an average of 3 books per month in 2012 (for a minimum of 36 books). I’m happy to report that I exceeded that goal and read a total of 46 books! Check it: […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,738 other followers