Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Five Things Friday: iPhone apps

with 4 comments

I’ve added a new blog to my list of Blogs I <3: Stuck in the Middle, written by Megan Baker who hails from my hometown and is a fellow St. John Fisher College C/J alum. She’s pretty rocking and I decided to borrow (steal?) her idea of Five Things Friday, which she was inspired to start after seeing it on the City Year New York blog. I’m not saying I’ll do this every Friday, but I thought I’d give it a shot every now and then.

So, I have an iPhone – my first smartphone. Here are five apps that I am loving:

ZipListZipList by ZipList, Inc (free). My boyfriend and I use ZipList for our grocery shopping. He accesses it over the web and I add things from my phone. Then in the store, I check them off as we go along (plus, then I don’t have to push the cart, muahaha). I really like how it auto-magically sorts items you add into sections – produce, dairy, frozen, etc. You can also designate different stores (Giant, farmer’s market) for different items.

InstagramInstagram by Burbn, Inc (free). The filters in Instagram are really fun to capture and alter everyday moments. My favorites are X-Pro II, Earlybird, and Hefe. I can choose to share my shots beyond Instagram to Twitter, email or Facebook. And, I never carry a digital camera around anymore. More room in my bag for other goodies! Another nice feature is the constant feed of images from people I follow within the app.

FeedlerRSSFeedlerRSS by C.B. Liu (free). I started using this app a few weeks ago to view my Google Reader RSS feeds. It seems to be working well so far – no crashing, etc. It’s also easy to star posts as favorites and use email/Facebook to share a link with friends or family members. However, there does seem to be a lot of clicking (er, tapping?) to get at the actual content though, so I’m curious to know if there are better RSS apps out there that people are using.

Shape ShiftShape Shift by Backflip Studios (free). Are games considered apps? Who knows. I never got into the whole gaming/Angry Birds stuff, but this game is right up my alley. Nothing crazy, just a puzzle of matching boxes, shapes and colors. It feels like a mix between Tetris and Minesweeper. Addicting!

TeuxDeuxTeuxDeux by swissmiss & Fictive Kin ($2.99). A simple, designy, to-do app – what more could you ask for? I use TeuxDeux for my personal task list and love the straight forward design. It certainly does not suffer from the “feature clutter” I’ve encountered with other productivity apps. I love that you can have daily lists as well as “someday” lists. Well worth the price!

Have an iPhone app that you can’t live without? Please share it in the comments.

Written by Erin Dorney

December 2, 2011 at 9:00 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Erin!

    We use a lot of the default Apple apps like iCal, Notes, and Reminders. The last one is really neat because you can make lists or notes that will ping you when you get near the place you’ve associated it with.

    I also love Mint for banking (go to Mint.com to set up awesome budgets and keep all your accounts in one place) and Yelp for finding good places to eat, stay, or shop nearby.

    My one of my favorite board games also has an iPhone/iPad app (I like how it looks on the iPad a bit more): Carcassone. It’s just gorgeous and just as fun as the actual board game.

    Melissa

    December 2, 2011 at 2:04 PM

  2. I can’t get enough of Dropbox (for storage and sharing of by docs (free)), Instapaper (for reading longer online articles ($4.99)), and Reeder (for my google Reader feeds ($2.99)).

    Chris

    December 5, 2011 at 7:24 AM

  3. @ Melissa – I am probably going to use the default iCal app on my phone. I have been using Agenda, which is supposed to be more designy/minimalist, but it seems to be very glitchy lately. I rely really heavily on my calendar, so it’s imperative that that app is working properly! Did not not know about Reminders pinging – that’s pretty awesome! I’m sure there is tons of stuff I don’t know about since I am so new at this smartphone stuff. I need to know all the tricks and tips! Tony uses Mint a lot to track our various accounts, but I’ll have to try out Carcassone (never heard of it).

    @ Chris – Yup, love Dropbox here too. Thanks for the Reeder recommendation – I’ll probably test that one out to see how it compares to Feedler. Thanks for the comment!

    Erin Dorney

    December 7, 2011 at 9:19 AM

  4. oh erin, you may have created my downfall by mentioning shape shift. i LOVE games like this.

    lyndamk

    December 24, 2011 at 11:37 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,736 other followers