Erin Dorney

Blogging life & librarianship

Library Scenester @ the Young Librarian Series

with 6 comments

Libraries are the number one place where SHH happens.

Libraries are the number one place where SHH happens.

Today you can read a guest post by yours truly over at the Young Librarian Series! Check it.

The Young Librarian Series was created by Leah White in 2009. It’s a place where young librarians (Gen Y, Gen X, Millennials) can gather to support, collaborate, and learn from each other. You can submit articles, essays, podcasts, videos or artwork that details your experience as a young information professional. Leah is a passionate librarian who is actually doing something in terms of creating a community for young librarians. You should check out the Young Librarian Series, submit something (it’s so easy!), read Leah’s personal blog and follow her on Twitter. And quick!

Written by Erin Dorney

February 24, 2010 at 9:06 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great blog! I found it via the Young Librarian Series blog. I’m currently an assistant librarian at a high school and am working towards my MLIS. I look forward to reading your adventures in an academic library (I work at one before the high school gig).

    Casey

    February 24, 2010 at 11:25 PM

  2. Thanks Casey! Where are you studying for your MLIS? Best of luck!

    Erin

    February 25, 2010 at 12:10 AM

  3. I’m doing the distance program at UW-Milwaukee. Where I live (NH) the closest school is Simmons and that’s super expensive and I love my job too much to leave for school, so…

    Casey

    February 25, 2010 at 1:18 AM

  4. I totally understand… Simmons is expensive, I looked at it too… tuition plus living in Boston just wouldn’t work out. I was also working at the time which is why I chose the distance program at SU. Experience is SO important, so I think you made a good choice not leaving. It makes what you learn more translatable and will give you a leg up when you look for your first post-MLIS position.

    Erin

    February 25, 2010 at 9:58 AM

  5. Experience is THE thing. I feel lucky because I’ve been working in a library since I graduated high school in ’95, but I’ve heard many horror stories about newly graduated MLIS students not being able to find jobs because they have zero experience. And I know it’s sort of beating a dead horse, but 95% of what you learn about libraries you learn by working at a library, not in school.

    It’s one of my biggest issues with school right now; it’s all theory taught by professors who I am fairly certain haven’t worked IN a library within the past fifteen years.

    Casey

    February 25, 2010 at 10:06 AM

  6. I agree – the best and most important experience is actually doing work in libraries, not in school. I have heard that complaint before (LIS profs who haven’t worked in libraries in ages)… and I can remember some who definitely fit into that category! I hope you have some good ones to even it out… :)

    Erin

    February 28, 2010 at 10:45 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,738 other followers